The first weeks in Jabiru

We arrived in jabiru on a Saturday night, on the Sunday afternoon we went to the airport to have a look and to meet everyone etc. The first thing they did was to put us on a flight so that we would see what kakadu Air flights are all about, that was pretty exciting, at least for me, who has never flown in anything smaller then 737 :) Carlos was not as excited :P It is a absloutely beautifull National Park, and to see it from the air was amazing.

After the flight I worked for a few hours just to start learning all the different tasks that lies under my responsibility, which is a fair few... From the beginning my role felt really daunting, it was just so many different parts to remember and the first couple of weeks were really hard and tiring. But I have to say that now, being on my 4th week here, it feels easy, because now I know everything and I have everything under control. :)

2 helicopters landing outside my window :)  me in my office (was having a quiet day, so i decided to play with the camera)
The office   The waiting area   The souvenir shop
The first week we had seperate days off work, I had Saturday and Sunday, and Carlos had Monday and Tuesday. So on my days off I went to the gym and to the pool, which is located just a 5 minute walk from our house. 35 degrees, not the best in a gym with no air-con , but really nice when your lying in the sun by the pool :)

The pool that is a 5 minute walk from our house:)  The surroundings by the pool area.

The gym  The view from the gym :) 

The highlight of the following week was definitely the 45 minute helcopter flight (without doors) that I went on. It was absolutely amazing. A very different experience compared to the fixed wing flights, although I loved both experiences. And this week (and from now on) they had given us the same days off, so we went bush walking and explored some of the incredible nature that this park has to offer.

From our walk, the nature around Jabiru  Carlos examining an old   close-up on the old   Spot the gecko .... 

  And here are the yellow flowers  This is how the

Last weeks highlight was when I went on my second fixed wing flight, only this time I went for an hour, sitting in the front seat while Carlos was flying :D That was a lot of fun, almost felt like a pilot myself..almost... :P

*Lots Of Love*


Comments
Posted by: ☆ m a l i n .

Det första som slog mig när jag läste detta inlägget var hur bra din engelska är!!! Det låter så naturligt, vilket inte är konstigt med tanke på att du levt i Australien ett bra tag nu (trots pauserna i Sverige). Och livet där nere låter heelt underbart!!!! (Jag ska göra allt jag kan för att försöka studera min sista termin i Australien haha, även om det dröjer typ 3,5 år tills dess.)

2010-08-24 @ 11:58:07
URL: http://carlssonmalin.blogg.se/
Posted by: Nicki

hahaha, tackar :) Jag jobbar pa den dar engelskan varje dag :P Hoppas att livet i Stockholm blir lika bra som livet e har nere :) O ja, sista terminen i Australien later som en super bra plan!! Fortsatt hall mig uppdaterad med hur de gar :) Kram

2010-08-26 @ 06:04:30
Posted by: Lars

Du beskriver det nästan som vore det i en resebroschyr. Jag hade gärna besökt er.

2010-08-26 @ 12:56:58
Posted by: Sverker

When I come 20xx I also want to fly helicopter.... please! ;-) Sounds very exciting. So, what actually are your working tasks? KRAM PAPPA

2010-08-30 @ 09:27:56



Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (will not be published)


URL / Blog address:


Comment: